Rendered Fat….


101_0897

Saving the drippings from your bacon isn’t a new concept.  I’ve thrown away plenty of pans of it myself, but I’m pretty sure I’ve learned my lesson after having this perfect jar of cob-smoked bacon fat in my arsenal.  After a recent trip to Dakin Farms in Vermont, I purchased about 5 pounds of bacon ends and pieces, which i rendered down for hours that night when I got home.  I could go on all day about the uses for this smoky goodness, but one of my favorites is to add a little into your potato salad… Shhh!

~ by Chest Rockaway on August 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “Rendered Fat….”

  1. great!!!!

  2. like fish oil to asian

  3. yea thats a good analogy.. Asians do love their fish oil!

Leave a Reply

 
