My favorite food blogs that I cannot live without.


There’s been several sources of inspiration for me and my cooking throughout my life.  But one of the biggest and most diverse wealths of knowledge has certainly been the internet.  Like to share with you some of my top places to check:

Ideas in Food: This is the one that started it all for me.   Alex and Aki are a couple who i believe met in cooking school, and the type of stuff they do is unparalleled.  The techniques I’ve learned about through their work and the ideas tehy have sparked in me are amazing, and I dream of the day I can travel down there for a private class with them.  Great people and true innovators.  They also write a regular column for Popular Science.

Studio Kitchen: Shola of studio kitchen is insane.  Strong flavors, amazing images and he is well read and brilliant.  a Private chef to some high profile people, he is someone whos footsteps I am trying to follow in daily.  He is opening a restaurant called Speck which I believe will be in philadelphia.

The Ridiculous Food Society of Upstate New York:  Gotta love Dave.  Lots of product reviews and a great sense of humor.  Also lives in my area, so fun to read about his take on a lot of the places I frequent.  Like me, hes a stickler for making sure everything is form scratch, but wont hesitate to leave the puff pastry dough to pepperidge farm.  Good man.

Albany Eats: Run by Albany Jane, another local friend.  Nearly everything includes a recipe, which is a huge plus and I always see that shes peeping my articles, which is flattering because I’ve been reading her blog for a minute.  For someone who didn’t grow up with kitchen-saavy parents she’s got quite the kitchen skill, and some of her takes on classics have definitely found their way into my recipe book.

Eric Rivera Cooks:  This guys is pretty much the man.  His presentation is always on point, and I’ve learned a lot about plating and food design by looking through his stuff.  Also, his caprese bites and togarashi gravlax were a huge hit at my last party. 

If your not in here I didn’t forget you.. :-)  Stay tuuned for part 2 in the coming weeks.

~ by Chest Rockaway on April 29, 2010.

4 Responses to “My favorite food blogs that I cannot live without.”

  1. Hey, thanks for the bloggy love, dude!

    I’m digging the new layout and man have you been busy (posting at least) the past few days!

    • haha yea no doubt!i love ur page its aregular stop fr me in the morning. i mentioned you in my post btw as a blog i frequent. short review for your face! keep up the good work my friend :-) im makin ur nutella cake next week.

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • thank you very much man! glad you are enjoying it, glad youve found some stuff here you like :-)

Leave a Reply

 
