How to make the perfect home fries… According to me.


When I go to a diner they must hate me.  I order my home fries and basically tell them to ruin them.  Well done redefined.  Not that I would consider it ruined but what does a guy have to do to get some texture around here?  Well if there’s one thing I’ve made plentyyyy of times it’s fried potatoes and I think I have a great method figured out.  It’s really not that complicated, but it works.  I want a deep, brownish-red, crunchy and soft in the middle potato on my plate.

First rule is: you need lots of oil.  I mean they don’t need to be deep fried, but I would put 1/8 inch vegetable oil in the pan to start, and it needs to be hot.  Put the potatoes in the microwave whole and give them 5-10 minutes or until soft while your oil heats up.  Then coarsely chop them up, distribute them in the pan without overcrowding them and DON’T TOUCH THEM!!  That means don’t stir them, move them around, fiddle with them or anything until they are dark on one side.  When you cut up hot potatoes they are probably going to be all crumbly and falling apart to a certain degree and that’s OK, because that means more oil penetration, more surface area, and more texture and character.  Flip them once and just use your judgement from there on out.  I drain and season them on paper towels but a colander works fine too.  Also, if you have some whole cooked potatoes in the fridge, or want to microwave them ahead of time feel free.    Enjoy!

~ by Chest Rockaway on May 3, 2010.

3 Responses to “How to make the perfect home fries… According to me.”

  1. […] and super flavorful start to a great day with mom!  Also goes great with these tried and true home fries.  Enjoy […]

  2. but no fried onions mixed with the potato and what are your seasonings?

    • In this case i just use lots of salt and pepper :-) and i typically do use onoins, but after i drain the pan, while the potatoes are cooling ill fry them up real quick and then toss them in.

Leave a Reply

 
