The best falafel I’ve ever had…..


So if you know me then you know that I’m a food whore.  And one of my favorite things ever is good falafel.  I dont mean the box crap you get at the store either…  Whenever I travel to a major city, I love to google around and try and find the most legit spot for this and that, and one of those things is always falafel.  So in my travels (which are not extensive) I’m fortunate to have found that the best ever, in my opinion, is right here in Troy NY!  The place is called Marmora Cafe.

But it’s not just the falafel I’m after..  When you get the platter, it’s loaded with all sorts of other good stuff.  Pita, couscous, all sorts of different types of hummus, some kind of potato salad, a feta spread and a slammin baba ghanousgh (a cold, vinegarey roasted eggplant), and if you ask for it (which I always do) extra pita.  The gentleman that owns the place might be the nicest guy I’ve ever met, and for that reason I haven’t worked up the nerve to ask him for his recipe yet, but it’s fluffy, green, crisp and covered in sesame seeds before its fried, and then topped with homemade tahini and some fresh cilantro.  It’s worth the trip!  Also, try the gyros, and make sure to tell him that Jay sent you.  He probably won’t know who your talking about.

~ by Chest Rockaway on July 20, 2010.

One Response to “The best falafel I’ve ever had…..”

  1. that web site is a riot. have been wanting to go here for some time

Leave a Reply

 
